Thursday, September 11, 2014

Call for Nominations: Chadwick F. Alger Prize

The International Studies Association has announced that it is accepting nominations for the Chadwick F. Alger Prize for the best book published on the subject of international organization and multilateralism. Here's the announcement:

Chadwick F. Alger Prize

The Chadwick F. Alger Prize recognizes the best book published in the previous calendar year on the subject of international organization and multilateralism. The Prize is awarded annually by the International Organization Section of the International Studies Association. The Award Committee is particularly interested in works dealing with the United Nations and/or with how international organizations interact with nongovernmental organizations and other local civil society actors, as reflected in the writings of Chadwick F. Alger.

General Information

Recipients must meet the Following Criteria

1. Recipients must be a current member of ISA

2. The recipient may be at any stage of his or her career and from any country.

3. Edited volumes are not eligible for this award.

4. Self-nominations are also welcome.


The recipient receives a $250.00 (USD) cash prize from the International Organization account and a certificate.

Selection Process

The recipient is selected by a committee appointed by the International Organization Section.

The recipient will be announced at the International Organization Section Business Meeting at the ISA Annual Convention and will be recognized at the IO Section reception.

Apply For This Award

Publishers are asked to limit their submissions to no more than three (3) works, and to send a copy of the nominated work(s) directly to each of the committee members. Publishers should also notify the Committee Chair of submissions by email.

Nominated books should be sent to the committee members by October 1st. Books appearing later in 2014 can be sent as page proofs by October 1st