Thursday, September 4, 2008

Human Rights Committee Election

Today, the States Parties to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights elected nine individuals to serve on the Human Rights Committee for four-year terms beginning January 1, 2009. They were: Michael O'Flaherty (Ireland); Rajsoomer Lallah (Mauritius); Mohammed Ayat (Morocco); Krister Thelin (Sweden); Fabian Omar Salvioli (Argentina); Ahmad Amin Fathalla (Egypt); Nigel Rodley (United Kingdom); Rafael Rivas Posada (Colombia); and Lazhari Bouzid (Algeria). The nine other members of the Committee, whose terms expire on December 31, 2008, are: Abdelfattah Amor (Tunisia); Prafullachandra Bhagwati (India); Christine Chanet (France); Yuji Iwasawa (Japan); Helen Keller (Switzerland); Zonke Zanele Majodina (South Africa); Iulia Antonoanella Motoc (Romania); Jóse Luis Pérez Sanchez-Cerro (Peru); and Ruth Wedgwood (United States).