Sunday, November 11, 2007

WTO: Appellate Body Members (Provisionally) Selected

We previously noted the nominations made in late August for four WTO Appellate Body positions. It is now being reported that the selection committee has decided to put forward four names - those of Lilia Bautista (Philippines), Jennifer Hillman (United States), Shotaro Oshima (Japan), and Zhang Yuejiao (China) - to the Dispute Settlement Body for its approval at the DSB's November 19th meeting. (For bios, see here.) The DSB will almost certainly approve the committee's recommendations. Not surprisingly, Japanese and United States nationals were selected, as both countries, together with the EC, have de facto permanent AB representation. Unsurprising, too, was the selection of a Chinese national, the first for that country since it joined the WTO in 2001. Not chosen were nominees from Benin, Korea, and Pakistan.