Tuesday, January 20, 2009

ICC: Election of Judges (Ninth Round)

Joyce Aluoch (Kenya) was elected unanimously in the ninth round of balloting. Following the fifth round, Aluoch and Wilhelmina Thomassen (the Netherlands) were the only two candidates remaining for the final seat available, all other candidates having withdrawn. Going head to head, they contested the sixth, seventh, and eighth rounds, with Aluoch eventually gaining the upper hand such that Thomassen withdrew before the final round.