Monday, July 7, 2008

ITLOS: Election of Seven Judges / Annual Report

On Friday, June 13 (while I was on vacation), at the eighteenth meeting of the States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, seven persons were elected to the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea for nine-year terms commencing on October 1, 2008. Those elected included five sitting judges (Joseph Akl; José Luis Jesus; Vicente Marotta Rangel; P. Chandrasekhara Rao; and Rüdiger Wolfrum) and two new judges (Boualem Bouguetaia and Vladimirovitch Golitsyn).

Also noteworthy is the Tribunal's Annual Report (SPLOS/174) and President Wolfrum's statement presenting it. Coverage of the meeting can be found here, here, here, here, and here.