Tuesday, November 27, 2007

WTO: Appellate Body Members Appointed

The WTO Dispute Settlement Body appointed today four new members to the seven-member Appellate Body: Lilia R. Bautista (Philippines) and Jennifer Hillman (United States) for four years commencing on December 11, 2007; and Shotaro Oshima (Japan) and Yuejiao Zhang (China) for four years commencing on June 1, 2008. (WTO press release here.) Taiwan had previously blocked the appointments because a Chinese national was among the persons provisionally selected. Over the past several days, though, under intense pressure, Taiwan wavered. It's unclear whether, in exchange for withdrawing its opposition, Taiwan has received some assurances from other WTO members regarding, for example, future appointments of Taiwanese nationals to WTO committees.